2015: Life has no remote, so wake up and change it

Dear Mimi,

2015.

Another year has come and gone. And while the days go by so slow, the year goes by so fast. What kind of weird magic is that?

Usually, I don’t make New Year’s resolutions. Well I do, but it’s usually to floss more and avoid getting annoyed at most people. But, now I’m 20, and I feel like I have to change my life. They say that a person changes every ten years and this time for me came right on the dot. Your 20’s are supposed to be the most challenging, fun, craziest, important time in your life. It is when you step into the “real world” (I hate this phrase, the world is already real. It’s not like you were living in a fake world before this) and experience it for yourself, firsthand. You find out who you really are, without the confinements of anyone else. For the first time, you have everything and nothing, all at the same time.

So this year, I’ve decided to do only one thing: change. I want to make my life how I want to, not how others expected me to. I want to try more things and be more open. I want to better my character and be more giving. I want to be brave enough to put others first, but also say no when I didn’t want to do something. I want to have the courage to try new things and not live with the feeling of “what if?” I want to have a healthier lifestyle in terms of food, fitness, and fun. I want to become more spiritual and figure out my purpose in life.

But most importantly, if I am given the privilege to reach the end of 2015 inshAllah, I want to look back and not be surprised at how another year went by so quickly, and how it seemed as though I hadn’t accomplished anything. I want to look back and say 2015 was the year that I changed myself, that I did things, and I took my life where I wanted it to go. I want to look back and say that was an incredible year and I am different person now.

To be honest Mimi, no one can change you, except for you. You have to want to change in order for it to happen. And everyday, life passes us by and we lose another day. We look back at the end of the year, at our 365 page books, and realize that they are blank for the most part. I know that it sounds so cliché, but the time to do things is now. I was depressed in 2014 and because of that, highly unmotivated. All this stress and negative energy surrounded me and I didn’t know what to do. So I turned to Allah SWT and asked Him for help. And with that, I decided to get up, and change. I realized that no one can help me if I am not willing to help myself.

So with that, I hope inshAllah, I can accomplish everything that I want to, enjoy the happy times, and learn from the bad ones, filling up my new book of 2015. And I hope, as you get older, you will too.

Love, Didi

“I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes.

Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You’re doing things you’ve never done before, and more importantly, you’re Doing Something.

So that’s my wish for you, and all of us, and my wish for myself. Make New Mistakes. Make glorious, amazing mistakes. Make mistakes nobody’s ever made before. Don’t freeze, don’t stop, don’t worry that it isn’t good enough, or it isn’t perfect, whatever it is: art, or love, or work or family or life.

Whatever it is you’re scared of doing, Do it.

Make your mistakes, next year and forever.” -Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

