2016 Favorite Finds (with Emojis!)

Dear Mimi,

2016, although crappy in general, was great for beauty. So many new and fantastic products came out and this is the year when I really got into makeup and I figured out what thing were, when to use them, and how. My skincare regimen also paid off and I found some products for life! Brace yourself, it’s going to be a long post, so I’ve separated them into categories. I won’t go into too much explanation for each product, mainly just emoji ratings with a brief explanation, so just know I love all of them haha. Check out my October, November, and December favorites or Internet Made Me Buy It for more explanations, if mentioned.

Makeup:

Primers

Tarte Timeless Smoothing Primer ($39 for 0.5 oz): 😁 So soft and creamy, foundation goes on flawlessly with this primer.

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-11-13-50-pm

Laura Geller Spackle Primer ($32 for 2 oz): 😎 I didn’t have high hopes for this primer at first, but it works so well! Every time I use it, I love it even more. It’s so light and moisturizing, and makes my foundation last wonderfully.

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-11-18-07-pm

Smashbox Photofinish Primer ($36 for 1 oz): 😊 This primer is more silicone-y, but really smooths my face and makes it even for the foundation to adhere to.

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-11-19-23-pm

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion ($20): πŸ˜‹ My go to eyeshadow primer. The only thing that I don’t like about it (and I’ve only noticed it the last few times) is that it will crinkle and crease when it accidentally transfers under my eyes, on top of my concealer. It leaves a mark which emphasizes my dry spots and looks super weird. It doesn’t go away that easily either. But use this before doing your face makeup and it’s great for eyeshadows!

Smashbox 24 Hour Eyeshadow Primer ($21): πŸ˜™ Found this recently, but I love it! Really lightweight, no creasing, and makes all the discoloration on your eyes go away for a clean canvas.

Foundation/Tinted Moisturizers

Makeup Forever Ultra HD Foundation ($43 for 1 oz): πŸ˜‡ Love this stuff. Great foundation, makes your skin look airbrushed, amazing in photos, extremely lightweight, and blends like a dream.

Bare Minerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel ($29.50 for 1.18 oz): πŸ‘ This is a good tinted moisturizer for everyday. It just evens out your skintone and has a very natural finish, which I like. It is a little bit on the dewier side though, keep that in mind.

Urban Decay Naked Skin One and Done Hybrid Complexion Perfector ($34 for 1.3 oz): πŸ™Œ Great tinted moisturizer. Lasts all day, satin finish, and it’s like my skin but better. Love it.

Concealers

Maybelline Dark Circle Eraser ($10 for 0.2 oz): πŸ’Œ Is there anyone that doesn’t love this. So lightweight and natural, but provides great coverage. And you can’t beat it for the price!

Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer ($29): πŸŽ€ This is a splurge but also a very nice concealer. Takes a little more blending, but also lightweight and gives good coverage.

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-11-34-34-pm

Tarte Shape Tape Contour Concealer ($24): πŸŽ‰ I feel like this was the concealer of the year. Everyone and their moms love this concealer and for good reason. Although it is a little thick and intimidating at first, it goes on super creamy and blends out flawlessly giving amazing coverage that still looks natural and not cakey.

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-11-15-19-pm

Bronzers/Highlighters

Benefit Hoola Bronzer ($28): πŸ—ΏTalked about this in my Internet Buys. Great Bronzer.

screen-shot-2016-10-10-at-1-39-13-pm

Becca Liquid Shimering Skin Perfector in Moonstone ($41): πŸŒ™ Such a beautiful highlight. It gives a gorgeous glow to the face and uggghh, it’s just so pretty.

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-11-42-18-pm

YSL TouchΓ© Eclat Lumiere Divine Highlighter ($47): πŸ’Έ Talked about this wayyy too much already. Read here.

screen-shot-2016-10-10-at-9-16-11-pm

Blush

Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Genius ($28): πŸ’— Beautiful blush I recently picked up. Gives such a natural finish to the cheeks so you look healthy and fresh. (It was limited edition, but as of today, you can still buy it here).

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-11-16-56-pm

Becca Mineral Blush in Flowerchild ($32): 🌸 Gorgeous. It’s a pinky peach blush with a hint of gold shimmer and I always feel like a million bucks whenever I put this on.

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-11-42-09-pm

Eyeshadow Palettes

Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette ($49): 🍫 I find myself reaching for this palette so much and so excited to create different looks with it. You can literally go for any look you want with this palette. It is so universal and flattering and who doesn’t want everything to smell like chocolate?

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-1-17-04-am

Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette ($42): ❀️ Pretty sure this was the best palette of 2016. It has pigmentation, softness, blendability, unique color range. But the mattes in the palette are what make it so good. I have yet to find better matte eyeshadows than these. Not chalky and just incredible.

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-11-45-05-pm

Eyeliner

NYX Studio Liquid Liner ($4.50): πŸ”₯ These little eyeliners are so cheap and so great if you want a pop of color or to add some more shimmer to your eyeshadow look!

screen-shot-2016-12-30-at-12-09-22-am

Butter London Iconoclast Infinite Lacquer Liner ($20): πŸ€” This is a really nice liquid eyeliner, but if I’m really being honest, I prefer my $3 Wet n Wild Megalast Eyeliner (Shh!)

The Balm Cosmetics Mr. Write Now Eyeliner in Jac ($18): 🌟 I think I received this in my January Ipsy Bag and it’s so good! It’s a pretty dirty gold color for the waterline and it gives a nice pop.

screen-shot-2016-12-30-at-12-05-50-am

Mascara

Dior Diorshow Mascara ($28.50): ✨ Probably my favorite mascara that I’ve found this year. It just makes my eyelashes look like a trillion bucks.

screen-shot-2016-12-03-at-5-18-17-pm

Benefit They’re Real Mascara ($24): πŸ€ Tied with the Dior Mascara as one of my all time favorites. It gives separation, volume, length, and honestly makes you look like you’re wearing falsies, but you’re not!

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-11-38-17-pm

Smashbox Full Exposure Mascara ($22): πŸ’β€β™€οΈ My favorite mascara to wear for everyday. It gives a nice flutter effect and makes your lashes a little more full.

Lipstick

Nars Lipstick in TolΓ©de ($28): πŸ’„ I’m wearing this as I’m writing it so you can just imagine how much I love this. As expensive as it is, definitely worth the treat.

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-11-36-23-pm

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita ($20): 😝 Not only is this color iconic, it’s beautiful. This formula doesn’t dry out my lips and is so long-lasting. I’m planning to wear this to my best friend’s bridal shower.

screen-shot-2016-12-30-at-12-10-24-am

Makeup Forever Aqua Rouge Liquid Lipstick in Rosewood ($24): πŸ‘Έ If you read my December favorites, you already know I adore this.

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-12-03-20-am

Burt’s Bees Lipstick in Suede Splash ($9): 😸 Okay, can I just say that this is a beautiful color?! So it’s not super long lasting, but the color pay off is gorgeous and it’s so moisturizing and comfortable. I’ve already used up half of this in the last 4 months, and even with the lipstick collection I have, I WILL be repurchasing this.

screen-shot-2016-12-30-at-12-12-13-am

Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche Lipstick in Verbena ($26): πŸ’‹ My heart. This lipstick smells like gummy bears and the color is stunning. Everything I ever want on my lips.

Other

L’Oreal Infallible Setting Spray ($17): πŸƒβ€So I know everyone is in cahoots over the UD All Nighter Setting Spray, but here’s a little secret. L’Oreal is the parent company of Urban Decay, so their setting spray is literally the same thing as the All Nighter, but cheaper. Forget all night, this will make my makeup last for like 3 days straight.

screen-shot-2016-12-30-at-12-14-33-am

Laura Mercier Translucent Setting Powder ($38): βš“ I used the anchor emoji because this powder anchors down my makeup and is great for when I decide to bake my face once a year.

screen-shot-2016-10-10-at-9-16-39-pm

Benefit They’re Real Tinted Lash Primer ($24): 🎒 The show opener before the main event. Love to wear this if I’m not wearing any or much makeup, but still want a little pizazz for my lashes.

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-11-39-11-pm


And that’s it for 2016 Mimi! Maybe if I have enough time later, I’ll update this post with Skincare Favs too. We’ll see.

Love,

Didi

 

 

Leave a Reply

